Award Programs

Congratulations to the 2022 NAHN Awardees! 


The National Association of Hispanic Nurses was pleased to announce the 2022 Award Recipients at the Gala of the NAHN 47th Annual Conference in Miami, Florida. It was our great privilege to recognize the following individuals for their contribution to the world of nursing and to celebrate their accomplishments. 

NAHN 2022 Award Recipients

  • Latino Legacy Award: Anabell Castro Thompson, MSN, APRN, ANP-C, FAAN, FAANP 
  • Nurse of the Year Award: Armando Riera, MSN, APRN-BC 
  • Henrietta Villaescusa Community Service Award: Guillermina Solis, PhD, APRN, FNP-C, GNP-C 
  • Ildaura Murillo-Rohde Award for Education Excellence: Mayra G. Garcia, DNP, APRN, PCNS-BC 
  • Janie Menchaca Wilson Leadership Award: Paule Valery Joseph, Ph.D., RN, MS, FNP-BC, CTN-B, FAAN 
  • NAHN Forty Under 40 Awards: Diana Y. Ortega, BSN, RN; Elisa Martinez, BSN, RN-BC; Raymundo Marin, MSN, RN, CCRN; Rocio Sanchez, BSN, RN, PCCN; Yara Mendez, MSN, RN, CCRN

NAHN 2022 Special Awards

  • NAHN President's Award: Norma Cuellar, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • New Chapter Recognition: NAHN Greater Cincinnati Chapter
  • Viajero Award (highest chapter member growth and retention over the course of the year): NAHN Miami Chapter
  • Ambassador Awards (highest number of member referrals over the course of the year):
    • First Place: Armando Riera, MSN, APRN-BC, NAHN Miami Chapter
    • Second Place: Mirian Zavala, DNS, RN, NAHN New York Chapter
    • Third Place (tie): Norma Avitua-Ovalle, MBA-HC, RN, BSN, NAHN San Antonio Chapter
    • Third Place (tie): Arizona College of Nursing


About NAHN Awards

The National Association of Hispanic Nurses established a series of awards to honor and provide special recognition to Hispanic nurses. These special awards (described further below) honor NAHN members for demonstrated excellence in nursing education, community service and for their spirit and dedication to serving the Hispanic community. Special awards are an opportunity for NAHN members to be recognized and celebrated for their extraordinary achievements within the nursing discipline.

Please note the following requirements for all NAHN Member Awards:

  • You may submit multiple nominations using the web portal.
  • Submitted nomination information becomes the property of NAHN.
  • Hispanic Nurses nominated for a Special Award must be a member of NAHN for at least two (2) consecutive years.
  • Nominations may be self-nominated or made by colleagues, clients, administrators, or co-workers
  • Two letters of reference are required. Letters must be 300 words or less and clearly illustrate the nominee’s qualifications and accomplishments. You will use the submission portal to submit letters of reference. Additional letters of recommendation can be uploaded in the online submission form.
  • The nominee will submit a current resume or curriculum vitae.
  • Qualified nominees may be the recipient of a particular Award only once. Any individual who has received previous recognition by NAHN for that Award is not eligible for the same award but may be nominated for other NAHN awards.
  • Current Board Members are not eligible for NAHN Member Awards.

Nomination period begins: May 1, 2022

Nomination period closes: May 31, 2022

NAHN Latino Legacy Award 

Through the Latino Legacy Awards, NAHN recognizes a small group of members who have contributed to the nursing profession with their commitment to advancing the health in Hispanic communities and to lead, promote and advocate the educational, professional, and leadership opportunities for Hispanic nurses. Although these Latino Legacies have typically stepped down from the positions through which they made their legendary contributions, their work through NAHN continues to have a positive, ongoing impact on the profession and our communities. 


  1. A Latino Legacy must have been a member of NAHN for at least 15 years and currently be a member in good standing. 
  2. S/he must be sponsored by two (2) Regular or Emeritus members in good standing. 
  3. A sponsor may only nominate one applicant as a Latino Legacy per year.
  4. The nominee must consent to be nominated.
  5. Nominations must be submitted by the deadline announced by the board. 
  6. Nominations should address the following: 
    • Describe the extraordinary and sustained contribution of the nominee as a role model and contributor to NAHN.
    • Describe the positive and ongoing impact of the work in the nursing profession and/or community they served.

NAHN Nurse of the Year

The NAHN Nurse of the Year Award recognizes a member of NAHN who has developed a creative and innovative program, intervention, or strategy in one of the following areas:

  • Improving the quality of health care in the Hispanic community (narrowing health care disparity).
  • Recruitment, retention, professional career development (increasing the number of Hispanic nurses at all educational and professional levels).
  • NAHN organizational development at local, state, and/or the national level (growth, effectiveness, and communication within NAHN organizations, and with the community it serves).

Evaluative criteria are as follows: Contribution to improving the health care of the Hispanic community across the life span, birth to end-of-life, in any health care environment; Innovation; Creativity; Leadership; and Advocacy.

Ildaura Murillo-Rohde Award for Education Excellence

This award honors NAHN members who have distinguished themselves in any scholarship area and/or nursing education.
Qualifications for the award include any or all of the following categories: 

  • Outstanding contributions in nursing education, research, and practice
  • Recognized commitment to excellence in nursing
  • Distinguished clinical expertise

Henrietta Villaescusa Community Service Award

This award honors NAHN members who have contributed to the improvement of health in the Hispanic community.
Qualifications for the award include any or all of the following categories:

  • Outstanding contributions as demonstrated by policy or program involvement of Regional or national significance
  • Distinguished community health practice
  • Publicly recognized commitment to improving the health of the Hispanic Community

Janie Menchaca Wilson Leadership Award

This award honors NAHN members who have distinguished themselves as nursing leaders. Qualifications for the award include any or all of the following categories:

  • Outstanding leadership contributions at the local community, state or national level
  • Leadership reflected in the areas of planning, practice, or implementation of a program that has positively impacted the Hispanic community

Sarah Gomez Erlach Humanitarian Award

This award honors NAHN members who seek to improve health delivery to the rural poor and migrant farmworkers and their families.
Qualifications for the award include any or all of the following categories:

  • Initiating or implementing health program(s) for the financially disadvantaged and/or migrant farmworkers and their families.
  • Publicly recognized statewide or national rural health program(s).
  • Advocacy and commitment to public health services to the financially disadvantaged and/or migrant farmworkers and their families.

NAHN Forty Under 40 Awards

NAHN's 40 Under 40 program recognizes younger members of our organization who are helping to fulfill NAHN's mission, engaging the community on behalf of NAHN, and providing critical volunteer assistance at the chapter and national level.  


2021 Award Recipients
2020 Award Recipients and 2020 Virtual Awards & Scholarships Gala Video
2019 Award Recipients